Youth Appreciation Program

Those in attendance for our club’s weekly meeting on April 19th at The Moonraker West were privileged to hear from nine Harper Creek High School students who participated in the club’s Youth Appreciation Program. This program involves Harper Creek Senior students that are selected by the High School Staff relative to their excellence in demonstrating academic success leadership skills “job shadowing” a Harper Creek school administer for a day. The meeting was brought to order by Club President Dustin King and after the Pledge of Allegiance and Invocation; Harper Creek High School Principal Dennis Anthony presented the students that participated in the program. Each student introduced their family members accompanying them to the event and gave a brief talk about their experience and what knowledge they obtained from participating in the program. Meals were provided to the students and their family members by the Optimist Club. The meeting was adjourned by all in attendance reciting the Optimist International Pledge.

Pictured (L-R) in the front row are the honored students and who they “job shadowed”:  Sarah Hubbard – Wattles Park Principal, Brent Swan; Alyssa Crandall – High School Athletic Director, Ed Greenman; Emma Berning – Middle School Assistant Principal, Jason O’Farrell; Grace VanHorn – High School Assistant Principal, Lisa Crawford; Hunter King – School Director of Technology, Jim Maynard; Tommy Shaw – Harper Creek School Superintendent (and HC Optimist Club member), Rob Ridgeway and HC Optimist Club President, Dustin King. In the back row is Superintendent Ridgeway; Ryan McCafferty, who shadowed High School Principal, Dennis Anthony; Jackson Malone – HC Curriculum Director, Laura Williams; Drew Van Wagner – Beadle Lake Principal, Nneka Daniels and Principal Anthony, who also chaired the event.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *